“I Will Rise”

I’d been working on this post for a while, and then last week my cousin passed away after a brief battle with leukemia.  This song has a more special meaning to me now when I think of him and his family.  We are all taking comfort knowing he had a strong faith in Jesus and that he is in a better place now.   I’d like to dedicate it to him.

Chris Tomlin performing “I Will Rise” live in concert.

I hope you enjoy this beautiful song!

Some lyrics from the song:

There’s a peace I’ve come to know

Though my heart and flesh may fail

There’s an anchor for my soul

I can say, it is well

Jesus has overcome

And I will rise when He calls my name

No more sorrow, no more pain

There’s a day that’s drawing near

When this darkness breaks to light

And the shadows disappear

And my faith shall be my eyes

…for we walk by faith, not by sight.

2 Corinthians 5:7 (ESV)

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you.  Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.

John 14:27 (ESV)

I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace.  In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.

John 16:33 (ESV)

Today I pray that you will rest in God’s peace, the peace that passes understanding, and that remembering “I will rise” gives you comfort.

Leave a Reply

